Monday, August 21, 2017

Blaze Publishing Giveaway!

Blaze Publishing is celebrating the new upcoming release of The Underground by Case Maynard by giving away Children of Eden by Joey Graceffa.



Teaser for The Underground by Case Maynard


The Underground will be released by Blaze Publishing on 9/12/17! Make sure to grab your copies!

You can purchase the book here:

https://www.google.com/url?hl=en&q=https://www.blazepub.com/books/the-underground/&source=gmail&ust=1503425670461000&usg=AFQjCNG6mgiGgK4J6CbyQ8aZ1070odXq1g

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Free Novella from Lily Luchesi!



Get the thrilling prequel novella of The Paranormal Detectives Series for FREE!


In 1988, Angelica Cross worked with a mortal detective to take down a werewolf pack who were feeding on children at a local school playground.

In 2008, the killings begin again, and Angelica is called in to work the case alongside her old partner's nephew, who likes Angelica as much as she likes garlic.

They need to put their animosity behind them, before more people are murdered.


Click HERE to receive your free e-book from Lily Luchesi!

And don't forget to check out book one in the PDSeries, which is always 99cents for Kindle!

Friday, August 11, 2017

Ultraxenopia (Project W.A.R. #1) by M.A. Phipps

35340607
This review was written by: B
Received: Ebook for Review
Date of Publication: Aug. 1, 2017
Page Count: 355
Stars: 4.75/5

Official Summary:

Don't stand out.  Blend in.  Remain invisible. Those are the rules I lived by -- the rules I thought would keep me alive.

I was wrong.

Wynter Reeves is a law-abiding citizen of the State, a willing conformist whose daily life is haunted by terrorism and oppression.  With the constant threat of death hanging over her like a shadow, she forces herself to live by a strict set of rules, all in the hope of ensuring she is never noticed.  However, on her twenty-first birthday, she prepares to take the placement exam that will determine her future within society, she begins to show symptoms of a rare and debilitating illness -- ultimately attracting the attention of the State.  Taken into the custody of the feared research facility known as the DSD, her worst nightmare becomes reality.

Ripped away from the life she knew, Wynter is forced to become the test subject of the mysterious Dr. Richter.  Through him, she learns the true and terrifying nature of her condition: a disease called Ultraxenopia.

My Thoughts:

I have a huge love-hate relationship with dysptopians.  For example, I'd gladly reread The Giver any day, but I'd really rather not finish the Divergent series.  (Been there, tried that if you know what I mean.)  Most of the time, though, I find dystopians to be just meh reads.  They're pretty good, but I'm not likely to fall in love with them, like with Not a Drop to Drink.  However, Ultraxenopia was one of the exceptions.  Not only does it have a stunning, captivating cover, but it also has a great plot.

We first start off by getting a glimpse of Wynter's world, which the author does a remarkable job of portraying to her readers.  She not only makes it exciting to explore, but she does it in such a way that avoids inserting info dump after info dump, which I know a great deal of readers appreciate.  Right off the bat, we peek in on how those in Wynter's society interact with one another, which is to say not at all.  They avoid eye contact, refrain from exchanging conversation, and generally keep to themselves.  At first, I was like



This is my dream introverted society!  Then I realized how messed up her world was and I was like




The story was engrossing, which is largely due to M.A. Phipps' way with words.  With the book being fairly fast paced I was rarely bored, though I did find some parts to be a tad bit lagging (but this didn't happen often).  

And my two favorite characters!  Let's start with Wynter.  I have a ridiculously hard time dealing with female protagonists, which you may have already read about here on the blog.  If I had a dime for every time I considered a female protagonist annoying to the point where I'd rather cry actual tears of blood instead of read on, I'd be a rich human being.  A filthy, filthy rich human being. Wynter is drastically different though.  I actually didn't want to pull out my own hair because of her.  She turned out to be much stronger than I ever thought she could be, and for that I must give M.A. Phipps a great deal of credit.  Wynter actually surprised me and was able to give me another young lady to add to my favorite modern literary females of all time alongside Zoey Valentine (The Awakened) and Angelica Cross (Paranormal Detectives Series).  Then there's Ezra, who I'm going to let you fall in love with for yourself.  However, on a side note, why does every Ezra I come across in books have to be such a fine specimen?  (I'm talking about you Ezra from First & Then.)  Cue the drooling:



If you're looking for a dystopian trilogy with traditional elements that spins them into something entertaining and refreshing, I'd highly recommend Ultraxenopia.  It's jam-packed with great characters, excellent world building, and a dash of powers!



Release Day Blitz: Omega by Karina Espinosa



Title: Omega
Author: Karina Espinosa
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Cover Designer: Laura Hildago
Publisher: Black Quill Publishing
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR


Blurb: 
Bodies drained of blood are scattered around New York City. With a serial killer on the loose, Mackenzie Grey is obsessed with solving the murders. She dives into her work at the Supernatural Investigative Unit to forget about the events that dismantled her Pack a year ago. When the killer makes Kenz the target, she falls down the rabbit hole and discovers she has a lot more to do with these murders than she realized.
As her past creeps up behind her, she must swallow her pride and seek aid from old and new friends.
In the epic finale of the Mackenzie Grey: Origins series, she will finally become the wolf she is destined to be…




Karina Espinosa is the Urban Fantasy author of the Sins of the Fallen series and the Mackenzie Grey novels. Infatuated with travel, pop culture, and the need to write everything down, she spends much of her days in front of a computer working on her next book, shopping online, and listening to music. With nomadic tendencies, she is currently resting her head in South Florida until the itch to move strikes again. You can usually catch her on Facebook, Instagram and live-tweeting during episodes of Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, and Orphan Black. Follow her on social media!




Author Links:
Buy Links:

Friday, August 4, 2017

ISAN Cover Reveal



Title: ISAN
Author: Mary Ting
Genre: YA Dystopian/Sci-Fi
Cover Designer: Deranged Doctor Design
Publisher: Vesuvian Books
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR



Blurb:

The world has changed.

Scientists warned it would happen.

Meteors devastated the Earth. World Governments developed plans to help surviving citizens. The United States disbanded and salvageable land was divided into four quadrants—North, South, East, and West—governed by The Remnant Council.
Struggling to survive, seventeen-year-old Ava ends up in juvenile detention, until she is selected for a new life—with a catch. She must be injected with an experimental serum. The results will be life changing. The serum will make her better. To receive the serum Ava agrees to join a program controlled by ISAN, the International Sensory Assassin Network.
While on a training mission, she is abducted by a rebel group led by Rhett and told that not only does she have a history with him, but her entire past is a lie perpetuated by ISAN to ensure her compliance. Unsure of who to trust, Ava must decide if her strangely familiar and handsome captor is her enemy or her savior—and time is running out.



Mary Ting resides in Southern California with her husband and two children. She enjoys oil painting and making jewelry. Writing her first novel, Crossroads Saga, happened by chance. It was a way to grieve the death of her beloved grandmother, and inspired by a dream she once had as a young girl. When she started reading new adult novels, she fell in love with the genre. It was the reason she had to write one-Something Great. Why the pen name, M Clarke? She tours with Magic Johnson Foundation to promote literacy and her children’s chapter book-No Bullies Allowed.

Author Links:
Pre-Order Links:
Universal Pre-order ebook: www.books2read.com/ISAN
Amazon Print: http://amzn.to/2vlgCtD


Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Ultraxenopia Release Day Blitz



Title: Ultraxenopia
Author: M.A. Phipps
Genre: YA Dystopian Thriller
Cover Designer: Nathalia Suellen
Editor: Catherine Stovall (CLS Editing)
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR



Blurb:

Don’t stand out. Blend in. Remain invisible. Those are the rules I lived by—the rules I
thought would keep me alive.

I was wrong.

Wynter Reeves is a law-abiding citizen of the State, a willing conformist whose daily life is haunted by terrorism and oppression. With the constant threat of death hanging over her like a shadow, she forces herself to live by a strict set of rules, all in the hope of ensuring she is never noticed. However, on her twenty-first birthday, as she prepares to take the placement exam that will determine her future within society, she begins to show symptoms of a rare and debilitating illness—ultimately attracting the attention of the State. Taken into the custody of the feared research facility known as the DSD, her worst nightmare becomes reality.

Ripped away from the life she knew, Wynter is forced to become the test subject of the mysterious Dr. Richter. Through him, she learns the true and terrifying nature of her condition: a disease called Ultraxenopia.





Release Party:

M. A. PHIPPS is an American author who resides near the ocean in picturesque Cornwall with her husband, daughter, and their Jack Russell, Milo. A lover of the written word, it has always been her dream to become a published author, and it is her hope to expand into multiple genres of fiction. When she isn’t writing, you can find her counting down the days until the new season of Game of Thrones.
 
Author Links:
Buy Links:

“This isn’t how it looks,” I stammer.
A sarcastic laugh explodes from his lungs, echoing through the otherwise soundless bar.
“Really? Because, from where I’m standing, it looks like you’re one of them.”
“I’m not.” The words sound weak and unconvincing.
He pushes the barrel of the gun against my temple, and our faces are so close now that I can feel his heated breath against my lips.
“Why should I believe you?” he growls.
I tense my jaw, spitting my next words through clenched teeth. “If I was one of them, they would already be here,” I hiss back.
The State doesn’t play games. He must know that better than anyone. They wouldn’t waste time sending in a single person when they could more efficiently get the job done by sending a whole team. If I was one of them, the Enforcers would already be here. The State wouldn’t bother with this game of charades.
His expression doesn’t change, but I can see his true reaction in his gaze—the doubt that appears there. He seems to grasp that what I’ve said makes sense, but at the same time, can’t wrap his head around any other reason why I’d be here.
He wavers, and I can feel his uncertainty in the way the point of his gun wobbles against my skin. His eyes remain fixed on mine, making my heart race even faster. I only glance away when I notice a movement to my right. Looking up, I see another man now standing beside us.
“We can’t take any chances,” the man grumbles before spitting on the floor in front of me. “We should kill her to be sure.”
A deep-rooted panic washes over me, the fear like a smoldering and inextinguishable ember. Despite everything I’ve seen, I still have my doubts as to what’s really happening, and I can’t help worrying that this won’t end well. How can it? I won’t even be given the chance to defend myself.
He presses the gun even harder against my forehead, causing me to suck in a sharp breath. Our eyes lock once again.
“How do you know my name?”
I stare at him, trying to figure out the best way to answer his question. His hazel eyes are probing, but I find myself losing focus on his expression. His face has gone hazy, the bar even darker. The nausea from before returns with a vengeance, consuming my entire body and pressing down on me with a force that threatens to pin me to the floor.
I sway, lightheaded.
A strange trickling resonates around us, the sound deafening in the hushed bar. At first, I think I’m imagining it, but then I see the alarming change in his face.
His eyebrows pull together as he looks down, and suddenly, he’s taking a reflexive step back. I follow his gaze once more, my own vision doubling as I take in the tremendous pool of red that seems to surround me.
I watch the blood as it drips from my open wrist, the bandage soaked through and unravelling from its hiding place in the no longer white sleeve.
His eyes snap back to mine, and my every movement feels delayed as I glance up to meet them. The moment I do, the images from my vision flash through my thoughts, reminding me why I’m here.
I see his face. His hazel eyes.
I see his tears.
“I’m sorry, Wynter.”
Any and all light that the bar possessed vanishes in an instant, and the pain I had managed to forget hits me all at once. I gaze at him, concentrating on his face as much as my increasing blood loss will allow. Focusing on his eyes, which continue to stare back at me.
My lips pull into a smile as the darkness rushes to overcome me.
“I saw you,” I breathe.