Thursday, June 15, 2017

Last Rites (Paranormal Detectives Series #5) by Lily Luchesi

34888885This review was written by: C and B
Received: Ebook from Author for Review
Date of Publication: June 2017
Pages: 213
Stars: 5/5

Official Summary:
Power is the deadliest desire.

With Leander put to rest and the Paranormal Investigative Division taken care of by the Coven Mistress, Danny and Angelica are finally ready to take some time for themselves while Angelica gets used to her new role as the Empress and they make their relationship official.

When people close to Angelica are murdered by what seems to be a rogue vampire, their sabbatical is cut short in order for her to find the perp and execute him or her.

But this is no ordinary vampire.  When the truth is revealed and secrets come to light, it will prove to be Danny's biggest test of faith yet, and Angelica's reckoning of her past, present, and future.  Most of all it will raise a single question: Just what makes a monster?


Our Thoughts:
After Right to Silence, we honestly didn't think anything could compare to the magnificence that is the fourth book in the Paranormal Detectives series.  Mark and Brighton were precious beyond belief (not to mention that now they're one of B.'s favorite OTPs),

 

and topping the emotions that that book elicited was unfathomable.  Of course, we feel foolish now because we're talking about Lily Luchesi here, an author that extensively grows with each and every new story she writes.  New leaps and bounds are crossed installment after installment.

We have finally been introduced to the fifth novel in the Paranormal Detectives series, and the story is still going strong! We often notice that it is difficult for some authors to keep their stories fresh and new, especially when they go beyond the standard duology or trilogy. It almost seems as if aspects simply get repeated and there is nothing unexpected or fresh occurring. The pages are filler for some "grand" finale and the story quickly becomes doldrum and boring.


However, this is definitely not the case for Last Rites, which is a fantastic addition to this series! There are so many exciting introductions, and there just seems to be something spectacular and new at every turn.


We were also super excited that Danny and Angelica finally tied the knot! Their love story is beautiful, bold, and tragic. Taking into consideration their backstory as well, their eternal vow just made everything come full circle. 



What's so special about Angelica and Danny's love story is the humanity that's embedded in its core.  Nothing is normal about their circumstances, which they both can appreciate and accept, but at the same time, they both have to overcome their own demons privately and as a couple to survive and keep their relationship thriving. This is what makes their story epic.  This is what makes the series memorable.  We love the magic, action, grit, and ultimate badassery, but we also cherish the honesty and the amount of work the two put into their relationship.  It's their vulnerabilities and drive to support each other unconditionally and it's their ability to falter but rise again that makes us so proud of Lily's work.

Love and respect don't even begin to describe what we feel towards these books.  Each one brings a new web of mystery and intrigue, a collage of romance and struggle, and fresh characters with fleshed out backstories and personalities of their own.  You inevitably become attached to every single one of them against your will, meaning throughout the entire book you are hesitantly flipping from page to page, while never knowing who might be subject to die next!  Last Rites was no exception.  And the ending!  You have to read that ending!

Seriously, we've said it once, and we'll say it a million times over: You have to pick up this series!  





Release Blitz: Last Rites




FREE if you use Kindle Unlimited!


Power is the deadliest desire.


With Leander put to rest and the Paranormal Investigative Division taken care of by the Coven Mistress, Danny and Angelica are finally ready to take some time for themselves while Angelica gets used to her new role as the Empress and they make their relationship official.

When people close to Angelica are murdered by what seems to be a rogue vampire, their sabbatical is cut short in order for her to find the perp and execute him or her.

But this is no ordinary vampire. When the truth is revealed and secrets come to light, it will prove to be Danny's biggest test of faith yet, and Angelica's reckoning of her past, present, and future. Most of all it will raise a single question: just what makes a monster?

Check out the trailer, featuring the song "I Don't Drink, I Don't Smoke, But I Lie" by Peter Blast.
 


Join the event on Facebook, featuring multiple authors, games, and giveaways.

Read books 1-4 of the series for just 99cents each, June 14th-18th!
Stake-Out * Miranda's Rights * Life Sentence * Right To Silence

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Release Day Blitz and Giveaway: Hunted (Part Two of the Demon Series) by Aoife Marie Sheridan



Title: HUNTED
Author: Aoife Marie Sheridan
Genre: Dark Fantasy/Paranormal/Romance
Cover Designer: Ultimate Fantasy Books
Editor: Michelle Browne
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR


Blurb: 
19-year-old Abigail is going from the frying pan to the fire. Cast into Hades unexpectedly, she narrowly escapes murder and torture--only to find herself kidnapped by Nicolas Frost, the man who tried to kill her. Sundered from her beloved Daniel and friend Cathy, the tortures and mysteries of Hell itself await Nicolas and Abigail.
As her captor leads her to an unknown fate, she discovers her true destiny. To save her home, Abigail may have to ally herself with enemies--unless the horrors and predatory wraiths devour her first.



Aoife Marie Sheridan is an Award Winning Author of The Saskia Trilogy & The Demon Series. You can visit her at: http://www.aoifemariesheridan.com
 
Author Links:
Buy Links:

Monday, June 5, 2017

Cover Reveal: Ultraxenopia by M.A. Phipps



Title: Ultraxenopia
Author: M.A. Phipps
Genre: YA Dystopian Thriller
Cover Designer: Nathalia Suellen
Editor: Catherine Stovall (CLS Editing)
Expected Release Date: Aug. 1st, 2017
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR


Blurb:
Don’t stand out. Blend in. Remain invisible. Those are the rules I lived by—the rules I thought would keep me alive.

I was wrong.

Wynter Reeves is a law-abiding citizen of the State, a willing conformist whose daily life is haunted by terrorism and oppression. With the constant threat of death hanging over her like a shadow, she forces herself to live by a strict set of rules, all in the hope of ensuring she is never noticed. However, on her twenty-first birthday, as she prepares to take the placement exam that will determine her future within society, she begins to show symptoms of a rare and debilitating illness—ultimately attracting the attention of the State. Taken into the custody of the feared research facility known as the DSD, her worst nightmare becomes reality.

Ripped away from the life she knew, Wynter is forced to become the test subject of the mysterious Dr. Richter. Through him, she learns the true and terrifying nature of her condition: a disease called Ultraxenopia.


M. A. PHIPPS is an American author who resides near the ocean in picturesque Cornwall with her husband, daughter, and their Jack Russell, Milo. A lover of the written word, it has always been her dream to become a published author, and it is her hope to expand into multiple genres of fiction. When she isn’t writing, you can find her counting down the days until the new season of Game of Thrones.
 

Author Links:
“Her blood type,” she whispers in a hushed voice to the man. “It’s . . . changing.”
I may not know much about science, or anything medical having to do with the human body, but I know enough to be certain that what she’s saying isn’t possible. Not without unnatural intervention at least.
I gape at the man, but he doesn’t say anything. He doesn’t even seem to react to this news. His eyes follow the code for a while, and his fingers rub his chin as if deep in thought.
When the process is complete, the sphere stops spinning and sinks back to the desktop, landing with a soft thud against the glass surface. Within seconds of touching down, the metal exterior shifts until it’s once again nothing more than a silver bowl filled with blood.
The man straightens up, and everyone in the room watches him in silence, waiting for him to speak.
Including me.
“Fascinating,” he murmurs.
Without warning, he looks over at me, and my heart rate increases when his lips curl into a smile. For some reason, his expression is unnerving.
Moving toward me, his footsteps echo off the floor—the sound growing louder as the distance between us shrinks. His gaze never leaves mine.
Stopping just in front of me, he flashes a kind smile. “Hello, Wynter. My name is Dr. Richter. I’ll be taking care of you.”
Taking care of me?
“Why am I here?” I breathe. My voice is shaky, and the dryness in my throat is apparent in each raspy word. “What are you going to do to me?”
“Shh, hush now,” he whispers. “All of your questions will be answered in time.”
He smiles once again, only breaking eye contact with me to glance down at his hand. I follow his gaze, the fear re-emerging when I see him pull a syringe from the depths of his coat pocket. His eyes flash back to mine, and I know he can sense my fear as well as the piercing screams lodged in my throat.
“But for now,” he croons as he injects the syringe into one of the tubes in my right arm, “you must sleep.”
He takes a step away from me, that disconcerting expression still plastered across his face. I try to say something, but I’m unable to get out a single word before I feel the effects of the liquid as it enters my system. It rushes through me like a cold chill.
I want to fight against it, but it’s hopeless.
As the drowsiness returns to pull me under yet again, the doctor’s smile is all I can see.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Cover Reveal: Last Rights (Paranormal Detectives #5) by Lily Luchesi




Coming June 14th, the fifth installment of Lily Luchesi's award-winning Paranormal Detectives Series, Last Rites. Cover art by Rue Volley.
Power is the deadliest desire.

With Leander put to rest and the Paranormal Investigative Division taken care of by the Coven Mistress, Danny and Angelica are finally ready to take some time for themselves while Angelica gets used to her new role as the Empress and they make their relationship official.

When people close to Angelica are murdered by what seems to be a rogue vampire, their sabbatical is cut short in order for her to find the perp and execute him or her.

But this is no ordinary vampire. When the truth is revealed and secrets come to light, it will prove to be Danny's biggest test of faith yet, and Angelica's reckoning of her past, present, and future. Most of all it will raise a single question: just what makes a monster?

Support the Thunderclap.
Check out the trailer, featuring the song "I Don't Drink, I Don't Smoke, But I Lie" by Peter Blast.

Join the event on Facebook, featuring multiple authors, games, and giveaways.
Find Lily via the following links:

Sunday, May 14, 2017

The Holver Alley Crew (The Streets of Maradine #1) by Marshall Ryan Maresca


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29097931-the-holver-alley-crew?ac=1&from_search=trueThis review was written by: C
Received: Publisher (DAW Books)
Date of Publication: March 2017
Pages: 352
Stars: 4/5

Official Summary:

Mixing high fantasy and urban fantasy, The Holver Alley Crew is the first novel of Maresca’s third interconnected series set in the fantasy city of Maradaine-- The Streets of Maradaine.

The Rynax brothers had gone legit after Asti Rynax's service in Druth Intelligence had shattered his nerves, and marriage and fatherhood convinced Verci Rynax to leave his life of thievery. They settled back in their old neighborhood in West Maradaine and bought themselves a shop, eager for a simple, honest life. Then the Holver Alley Fire incinerated their plans. With no home, no shop, and no honest income—and saddled with a looming debt—they fall back on their old skills and old friends.

With a crew of other fire victims, Asti and Verci plan a simple carriage heist, but the job spirals out of control as they learn that the fire was no accident. Lives in Holver Alley were destroyed out of a sadistic scheme to buy the land. Smoldering for revenge, burdened with Asti's crumbling sanity, the brothers lead their crew of amateurs and washouts to take down those responsible for the fire, no matter the cost.

My Thoughts:

I don't read very many books involving a ragtag band of thieves and elaborate heists. Usually this scenario falls more under the contemporary spectrum -- which is not a genre that I enjoy reading. However, when you add a bit of fantasy into the mix - you've got my attention.

I did not realize that this series is one of three written by Maresca, all of which take place within the same universe. From what I've heard, though, they don't have to be read in any particular order, so it was perfectly okay for me to begin with this third series - The Streets of Maradine. I have to say that I was hooked from the first chapter and because of the relationship that Asti and Verci possess. However, before I get into the whole brother relationship, I want to take a moment to appreciate the fact that Maresca is entirely capable of constructing a whole world with unique countries, peoples, customs, and magic without making things overly complicated. I would not call this a high fantasy series, and I was extremely happy with the fact that I could easily follow, for a lack of a better term, the ways of this world.

Maresca also included a wonderful diverse range of characters (both in terms of ethnicity, personality, and skill):
  1. Asti and Verci Rynax: Two young men and brothers who have left behind their life of crime and attempt to use their skills for the greater good. However, they are slowly pulled back into their old ways when Holver Alley is set aflame and they lose their entire livelihoods. 
  2. Helene and Julien: Cousins who have been blacklisted in the underground crime community  for Helene's temper and argumentative personality. However, Helene possesses excellent marksman skills with a bow, and Julien is well-known for his brawn, rather than his brains.
  3. Kennith: Inventor of some very interesting carriages and the driver of the getaway vehicle.
  4. Almer Cort: The quirky chemist and all around mad scientist. 
  5. Mila: A teenage girl whose street smarts and talent make her the perfect scout for all missions.

Honestly, I was drawn to this book via the official summary's mention of two brothers, particularly Asti and his "crumbling sanity." For some reason I just love stories that are capable of bringing to life a heartfelt relationship resulting from familial bonds. Asti and Verci have a great chemistry between them. Their banter is hilarious and their strengths and weaknesses offset one another -- making them the perfect team. I also appreciate the fact that they were both intelligent in their own right, rather than one brother solely being the brains of the operation. Asti is a great tactician and his previous occupation as a spy also brings quite a few more talents to the table. On the other hand, Verci is extremely gifted with inventing all sorts of amazing devices. Also, I love the fact that they often address one another as "brother." Consequently, I was constantly reminded of my love for anime and how boys and girls often address their male siblings as "brother" instead of their given name.

I love to read stories involving broken characters, too. For some reason, I find it interesting to view a world through their eyes and witness the challenges they must face. Asti was betrayed and captured by the enemy when he was a spy. During his incarceration, he was subjected to unimaginable torment, especially mentally. In the end, this resulted in Asti developing blackouts when he becomes extremely enraged. He describes it as releasing the chains of a beast and allowing the red to take over. However, he never remembers what happens during these episodes, and only awakens to dead bodies and bloody hands. This side of Asti was intriguing and had good development throughout the novel. You are left hanging a bit when more information is discovered about how Asti escaped imprisonment after he had let the beast's chain loose, and I hope that the next book explores this mysterious aspect of him further.

Overall, I found the story to be intriguing and entertaining. One might think that reading about tactics and plans to pull off a large heist to get a bit tedious and boring as the story progresses. However, I did not feel bored in the slightest, and I was fascinated by the technical aspects of the Rynax brothers' plans. Maresca knows how to keep a reader's attention, and he crafted the conclusion in such a manner that the plot was leading up to a far more sinister plot. Thus, I will definitely be picking up the next volume when it comes out!


If you enjoyed this book, you may also like:

22668755     23590634     

Friday, April 28, 2017

A Bloody Legacy by Lily Luchesi

34236072This review was written by: B and C
Received: Ebook from Author
Date of Publication: April 27, 2017
Pages: 40
Stars: 4/5

Official Summary:

Give in to the darkness within.

Rebecca Renfield and her best friend Johanna Seward are reopening an old sanatorium to start their psychology practice when Bec discovers old recordings from a John Seward pertaining to someone with her surname.  What she finds in the recordings are unnerving, but their new-shift doctor promises to provide the distraction Bec needs.

Victoria Draconis is a mysterious, beautiful woman who opens doors into levels of pain, pleasure, and submission that Bec had never imagined existed.


My Thoughts:
"Will you walk into my parlour?" said the Spider to the Fly,
'Tis the prettiest little parlour that ever you did spy;
The way into my parlour is up a winding stair,
And I've a many curious things to show when you are there." 
~Mary Howitt

Lily Luchesi has once again come out with a highly enjoyable read stamped with her signature supernatural mark but with a twist! Her audience once again gets a strong, alluring, sexy female vampire who isn't afraid to bite, but this time around we have a dominatrix vampire (Victoria) who becomes interested in a female psychologist named Rebecca.  A Bloody Legacy is a healthy mixture of mystery, F/F (erotic) romance, BDSM, and horror.

"You're a, uh...bondage girl?" I asked.
"Dominatrix," she corrected.  "And whether you know it or not, you are a perfect submissive."

What really brings this book together, though, we believe is the extremely atmospheric setting.  An old but recently renovated asylum with creepy patient files and an odd history?  SIGN US UP!  Plus, the spider and the fly concept held up throughout this novella brilliantly.  

We're not quite sure what it is about Luchesi's LGBT+ couples, but we love them!  Whether it's Brighton and Mark (Can we call ourselves their biggest fans?! SERIOUSLY.  NO JOKE.) or Victoria and Bec, she always does them so well and with justice.  The chemistry and flirtations are always on point and sizzling hot, especially in A Bloody Legacy.  (Be ready for some very intense, succulent scenes!)  You can't help but want to know more about the couples and delve into their relationship in greater detail.  It's great to see Luchesi explore a new genre (femdomme) and expand her horizons, too.  Plus, the references to current pop culture in A Bloody Legacy made us smile so hard (as always!) each time, particularly the one about Pok√©mon Go.  


(Sorry.  We lack self-control.) 

In the end, A Bloody Legacy is a quick, satisfying, sexy read with a dark, rather creepy ending that was more than fitting.  There are some surprising twists for such a quick story, which made A Bloody Legacy even more pleasurable and exciting than one might originally expect going into a forty page novella. (Never doubt Luchesi's skills!)  We loved the female Dracula-esque vibes.  Luchesi has a talent for creating strong, commanding females in her works, too, that are just so kick ass and make you want to go up to the person nearest you and say, "I'm so proud to be a woman."  Plus, in a world where culture tends to glorify and correlate beauty with a small dress size, it's utterly refreshing to see gorgeous, curvy women in Luchesi's works.  Can we get a standing ovation, please?

yes! photo: yes line tumblr_mn8yxxcNCV1ruuoaco10_400_zps2f383a09.gif




Thursday, April 27, 2017

Release Blitz: A Bloody Legacy by Lily Luchesi





Release Blitz:
A Bloody Legacy
By
Lily Luchesi

Apr 27th









Give in to the darkness within.
Rebecca Renfield and her best friend Johanna Seward are reopening an old sanatorium to start their psychology practice when Bec discovers old recordings from a John Seward pertaining to someone with her surname. What she finds in the recordings are unnerving, but their new night-shift doctor promises to provide the distraction Bec needs.
Victoria Draconis is a mysterious, beautiful woman who opens doors into levels of pain, pleasure, and submission that Bec had never imagined existed.















Lily Luchesi is a young author/poet born in Chicago, Illinois, now residing in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things "dark". At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle by the time she was twelve, and, as her family has always been what they now call "Gothic", she doesn't believe she shall ever change. She is also a hopeless romantic and avid music-love who will always associate vampires with love, blood, and rock and roll.
Her interest in poetry came around the same time as when she was given a book of Edgar Allan Poe's complete work. She then realized that she had been writing her own poetry since she could hold a pen, and just had not known the correct terms. She finished her first manuscript at the age of fourteen, and was first published at twenty-one.
Her debut novel, Stake-Out (Paranormal Detectives Series Book One), was published by Vamptasy Publishing on May 19th, 2015. Book two, Miranda's Rights, was released on January 8th, 2016. Book three, Life Sentence, was released on August 2nd, 2016 by Vamptasy Publishing, and book four, Right To Silence, was also just accepted by the publisher and will be released on January 17th, 2017.
She had a short story, "Undead Ever After" in the CHBB Publishing anthology Love Sucks (released on June 13th, 2015). Her first erotic short story, "Have No Fears", was published in the Hot Ink Press anthology Naughty Bedtime Stories: In Three Words on October 10th, 2015. She will also have a short erotic horror story, "The Devil's Dozen", in the Hot Ink Press anthology Death, Love, Lust, which was released on February 4th, 2016. Her horror short "Too Young To Kill" was released in the CHBB Publishing anthology Lurking In The Shadows on June 28th, 2016.



 

 


Hosted by
Obsessive Pimpettes Promotions