Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Release Blitz: Never Again by Lily Luchesi




In this standalone spin-off of the Paranormal Detectives Series, we discover the true horrors during Hitler's reign.
In World War Two, not all monsters were human.
Male siren Sean Wireman was ostracized from his small village in Israel in the sixteenth century, forced to wander the world until he settled in America in the 1920's. Since he doesn't age like a normal person, he was fit to fight in World War Two, to defend the heritage he spent his whole life running from.
Seventy years later, after he has lived a whole other life since Hitler was defeated, from attending law school to becoming a bona fide rock star, the monsters the Nazis released upon the Jews in concentration camps have returned, and he is the only one who can destroy them.
But can he save his people once again, or will this fight take a deadly toll?


EXCERPT:
I was freezing. As in limbs numb cold. I woke up in a bed, and dread filled me at the sight around me. I was back in Theresienstadt, and all around me were the frozen corpses of the other inmates. Ice and frost formed on their eyeballs and eyelashes. Their hair was frozen stiff, what they had of it, anyway. Lips blue, skin white as the snow the fell outside.
I got up, and had nowhere to walk. Unless I tread in my bare feet over frozen cadavers, I was stuck, trapped there to freeze to death. Taking a breath that burned my lungs from the cold, I took a step, feeling unmoving, frozen stiff limbs beneath my skin. Brittle, frozen bones cracked under my weight and I felt sicker than ever when I reached the end of the room.
The boy, the one I had given my coat to, was standing in the doorway, still wearing my coat. He was dead, but moving nonetheless. His sightless, frozen eyes stared at me and through me. “You didn’t try hard enough to save me,” he said, his voice naught but a whisper.
Fear made me move, and I shoved the ice-covered zombie aside, only to watch his body shatter like glass when it hit the floor. Blood exploded everywhere from the force of impact, so warm it began to melt the ice that was once a poor little Jewish boy, too young to even shave yet.
I let out a cry and ran out the door, not wanting to see anymore. Outside the door was the old man who had had his skull cracked in by the Nazi that night of the inspection. He was also made of ice, but his head was steadily pumping blood, slowly melting his cold exterior.
“You just watched me die,” he said, his voice sounding just like the boy’s.
“There was nothing I could do!” I protested.
The man lunged at me, but he was too slow and he slammed himself into the wall after I moved out of the way. I didn’t stick around to see if he was still moving or not. I needed to find a way out.
Without any more interruptions, I reached the main hall and opened the door to escape. Standing in the way was my old friend Jakob Edelstein. He was emaciated, but not frozen. His bare arm showed the tattoo that was unique to Auschwitz. His eyes were sunken and blackened, his teeth had mostly fallen out. Oh yes, and one side of his head was blown in, just a large crater like a cracked three-minute egg. Instead of yolk and butter and salt leaking from the crater, though, there was splattered gray matter and blood. Off to one side were three people I didn’t know, but I still knew who they were: Jakob’s wife, mother, and son. All three had identical holes in their heads.
“You escaped, Sean. I didn’t,” Jakob said, his voice low and dark, nothing like the man I knew. “Why did you deserve to live and not me?”
“I didn’t!” I said, tears coming to my eyes. “I didn’t deserve it, but I’m not the one who gets to choose who lives and who dies! Don’t you think I would have traded my life for yours in a second if I could have?”
“Not good enough!” Jakob lunged for me, and I grappled with him. He was stronger than our frozen brethren inside the camp walls. I pushed him down to the ground and watched in mute horror as his head shattered like porcelain, splattering his brains all over the pure white snow.






Lily Luchesi is the award-winning author of the bestselling Paranormal Detectives Series, published by Vamptasy Publishing. She also has short stories included in multiple bestselling anthologies, and a successful dark erotica retelling of Dracula. She is also the editor and curator of the bestselling Damsels of Distress anthology, which puts emphasis on strong female characters in horror and paranormal fiction.
She was born in Chicago, Illinois, and now resides in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things "dark". At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle. She is also an out member of the LGBT+ community. When she's not writing, she's going to rock concerts, getting tattooed, watching the CW, or reading manga. And drinking copious amounts of coffee.

Sunday, November 5, 2017

Blaze Publishing Giveaway!

To celebrate the upcoming release of Shadow Rise, Blaze Publishing is giving away 2 paperback copies of another sci-fi favorite, Replica by Lauren Oliver! Enter to win here!





Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Blood Promise Release Blitz



Title: BLOOD PROMISE
Genre: NA Urban Fantasy
Publisher: OfTomes Publishing
Cover Art by Gwenn Danae
Cover Text by Eight Little Pages
Hosted by: Lady Amber's PR



Blurb:
The Blood Books trilogy is Underworld meets The Craft that fans of Harry Potter, The Vampire Diaries, The Originals, and Twilight will enjoy! Readers are praising this "must read" trilogy as "unputdownable" and "purely addicting."
Careful what you witch for.
Avah Taylor never wanted to be a vampire, and now, her immortal life is at stake. When tragedy strikes, Avah is cast out of her vampire coven and embarks on a mission to expose the danger of the witchcraft that took her mortal life from her. Her journey takes her around the world, from Washington State to London to Russia, but Avah can't run from a past deadly mistake that has come seeking revenge.
In this epic conclusion to the Blood Books trilogy, Avah's questions will finally be answered, but only at a terrible price.



Danielle Rose holds a Master of Fine Arts in creative writing from the University of Southern Maine. Currently residing in the Midwest, where she spends her days dreaming of warmer temperatures, when she’s not writing, she enjoys pretending she lives in California, spending an embarrassing amount of time at Hobby Lobby, and binge-watching Netflix. Visit Danielle on the Web: www.Danielle-Rose.com.
Author Links:
Buy Links:
Blood Magic: http://amzn.to/2tAkZzH
Blood Promise: http://amzn.to/2vawGhb



Saturday, October 28, 2017

Damsels of Distress Release Day




16 authors. 1 anthology. Just $1.

Forget helpless princesses and ingenues with stars in their eyes. CHBB Publishing, the leader in small press fiction, brings you an anthology that is all about the strong women who bring the world to its knees. Rulers, villains, heroes: women of all walks of life bringing or fighting horrors unimaginable. Compiled and edited by award-winning and bestselling author Lily Luchesi.
Featuring these 16 authors:
Kathy-Lynn Cross
USA Today bestselling author Deliaria Davis
Sara Dobie Bauer
Poetry from A. Giacomi
SK Gregory
Mirren Hogan
Lily Luchesi
Poetry from Xtina Marie
P. Mattern
SL Perrine
Tianna Scott
TL Travis
EM Whittaker
Jay Michael Wright II
Simone Young
A novella from USA Today bestselling author SJ Davis

















Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, text





Sunday, October 8, 2017

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab


26074170This review was written by: C
Received: Library
Date of Publication: July 2016
Pages: 427
Stars: 5/5


Official Summary:

There’s no such thing as safe.

Kate Harker wants to be as ruthless as her father. After five years and six boarding schools, she’s finally going home to prove that she can be.

August Flynn wants to be human. But he isn’t. He’s a monster, one that can steal souls with a song. He’s one of the three most powerful monsters in a city overrun with them. His own father’s secret weapon.

Their city is divided.

Their city is crumbling.

Kate and August are the only two who see both sides, the only two who could do something.

But how do you decide to be a hero or a villain when it’s hard to tell which is which?


My Thoughts:

I'm not sure if any other readers experience this, but I have a particular story formula that I absolutely love. This formula involves a male protagonist, antagonist, or antihero experiencing a difficult life as a result of a superpower, terrible event, or the conflict of whether or not they are truly human. For some reason, I am fascinated with any story that fits the above description, and This Savage Song was definitely one of them.

The very first book by Victoria Schwab that I ever picked up was The Archived. It sounded fairly interesting so I figured that I would give it a try. However, I never made it a quarter of the way through the book. I'm not particularly fond of female protagonists, and the book gave off one of those "not for me" vibes. So, I decided to try out Vicious next and I was so glad that I did because it has become one of my favorite adult fantasy/science fiction novels. Of course, this book also followed my formula and the story was just so well put together. When I eventually came across This Savage Song, I was a little hesitant to try it out due to my lack of interest in Schwab's previous YA book, but I knew I had to give it a try especially after I read the back cover:

“Monsters, monsters, big and small,
They're gonna come and eat you all.

Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.

Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.

Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.

Monsters, monsters, big and small,
They're gonna come and eat you all!” 

I love it when authors come up with an original snappy quote, prophecy (I'm looking at you Percy Jackson & the Olympians), poem, or song that fits their story. They just bring an extra element that makes the book a bit more intriguing. 

Getting back on track, Schwab's story was fresh and new. Essentially, there came a point in time when human sins began to result in the creation of three types of monsters: Corsai, Malchai, and Sunai. Sunai are the rarest / most powerful, and are born from great tragedies in which many people die. All three types of monster can only feed on humans, not each other.

Due to the formation of monsters, the world is divided into territories. Verity is one of these territories, and it is a city that has been cut in half and ruled by two separate individuals -- Harker and Flynn. Harker controls the north half and the Flynn family protects the south. Harker controls various monsters in his half of the city (only the Corsai and Malchai), resulting in protection for those in his territory who are willing to pay for it. Flynn, on the other hand, has the moral high ground and aids all on the south side with the help of the only three Sunai that are known to exist and any man or woman who is willing to fight. This setup results in Harker's territory possessing a facade of normalcy, beauty, and safety, while the south side appears war torn. 

Essentially, Harker wants to take over the southern half of the city, which can only happen if the crumbling truce is truly broken. The Flynns send August to Kate Harker's school to keep an eye on her and to possibly use her if the truce falls apart. On a side note, I thought it was kind of adorable to have August (a Junior) a year younger than Kate (a Senior). It was a subtle dynamic that I appreciated. What August finds is actually a young woman who isn't quite what everyone believes her to be. Thus, he forms a relationship with the enemy and eventually gets caught up in a conspiracy involving Harker's monsters and the attempt to break the fragile accords between the two families.

The concept of human sins resulting in the creation of actual monsters was something that I had never seen in a book before and it definitely piqued my interest. August was also quite the philosophical one, especially in regards to his origins, what he is, and whether or not he can truly be human. This inner conflict was interesting, and August became a beloved character for me.

Kate was also kickass and above the norm for female protagonists. She  was strong-willed, intelligent, could hold her own ground, and was quite manipulative when it suited her needs. I loved the fact that Schwab made both Kate and August such well-rounded characters. They both had issues, strengths, and weaknesses, which made them far more real and believable. Too often there are female protagonists that just seem flat and unrealistic, they have a single aspect of their being/personality that is focused on, and it makes them boring and annoying. However, Schwab juggled various aspects of Kate's character remarkably well, and she did a superb job of showing the reader exactly what's going on in Kate's head. I also think that Kate and August suited each other quite well.

The only criticism that I have for the novel would be a single aspect of the ending. I don't want to spoil anything, so I'll just say that one character seemed to die a little too easily. They were portrayed as a far more powerful individual throughout the story, and I was disappointed that it didn't take much to kill them and perhaps it was also the fact that they died so quickly. However, Schwab did make up for it via a little surprise in the last few pages, and I am so excited to see where this will lead the story. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the book and will definitely be reading the next novel!


If you enjoyed this book, you may also like:

22811807     17788681     11750412     32075662

Monday, August 21, 2017

Blaze Publishing Giveaway!

Blaze Publishing is celebrating the new upcoming release of The Underground by Case Maynard by giving away Children of Eden by Joey Graceffa.



Teaser for The Underground by Case Maynard


The Underground will be released by Blaze Publishing on 9/12/17! Make sure to grab your copies!

You can purchase the book here:

https://www.google.com/url?hl=en&q=https://www.blazepub.com/books/the-underground/&source=gmail&ust=1503425670461000&usg=AFQjCNG6mgiGgK4J6CbyQ8aZ1070odXq1g

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Free Novella from Lily Luchesi!



Get the thrilling prequel novella of The Paranormal Detectives Series for FREE!


In 1988, Angelica Cross worked with a mortal detective to take down a werewolf pack who were feeding on children at a local school playground.

In 2008, the killings begin again, and Angelica is called in to work the case alongside her old partner's nephew, who likes Angelica as much as she likes garlic.

They need to put their animosity behind them, before more people are murdered.


Click HERE to receive your free e-book from Lily Luchesi!

And don't forget to check out book one in the PDSeries, which is always 99cents for Kindle!

Friday, August 11, 2017

Ultraxenopia (Project W.A.R. #1) by M.A. Phipps

35340607
This review was written by: B
Received: Ebook for Review
Date of Publication: Aug. 1, 2017
Page Count: 355
Stars: 4.75/5

Official Summary:

Don't stand out.  Blend in.  Remain invisible. Those are the rules I lived by -- the rules I thought would keep me alive.

I was wrong.

Wynter Reeves is a law-abiding citizen of the State, a willing conformist whose daily life is haunted by terrorism and oppression.  With the constant threat of death hanging over her like a shadow, she forces herself to live by a strict set of rules, all in the hope of ensuring she is never noticed.  However, on her twenty-first birthday, she prepares to take the placement exam that will determine her future within society, she begins to show symptoms of a rare and debilitating illness -- ultimately attracting the attention of the State.  Taken into the custody of the feared research facility known as the DSD, her worst nightmare becomes reality.

Ripped away from the life she knew, Wynter is forced to become the test subject of the mysterious Dr. Richter.  Through him, she learns the true and terrifying nature of her condition: a disease called Ultraxenopia.

My Thoughts:

I have a huge love-hate relationship with dysptopians.  For example, I'd gladly reread The Giver any day, but I'd really rather not finish the Divergent series.  (Been there, tried that if you know what I mean.)  Most of the time, though, I find dystopians to be just meh reads.  They're pretty good, but I'm not likely to fall in love with them, like with Not a Drop to Drink.  However, Ultraxenopia was one of the exceptions.  Not only does it have a stunning, captivating cover, but it also has a great plot.

We first start off by getting a glimpse of Wynter's world, which the author does a remarkable job of portraying to her readers.  She not only makes it exciting to explore, but she does it in such a way that avoids inserting info dump after info dump, which I know a great deal of readers appreciate.  Right off the bat, we peek in on how those in Wynter's society interact with one another, which is to say not at all.  They avoid eye contact, refrain from exchanging conversation, and generally keep to themselves.  At first, I was like



This is my dream introverted society!  Then I realized how messed up her world was and I was like




The story was engrossing, which is largely due to M.A. Phipps' way with words.  With the book being fairly fast paced I was rarely bored, though I did find some parts to be a tad bit lagging (but this didn't happen often).  

And my two favorite characters!  Let's start with Wynter.  I have a ridiculously hard time dealing with female protagonists, which you may have already read about here on the blog.  If I had a dime for every time I considered a female protagonist annoying to the point where I'd rather cry actual tears of blood instead of read on, I'd be a rich human being.  A filthy, filthy rich human being. Wynter is drastically different though.  I actually didn't want to pull out my own hair because of her.  She turned out to be much stronger than I ever thought she could be, and for that I must give M.A. Phipps a great deal of credit.  Wynter actually surprised me and was able to give me another young lady to add to my favorite modern literary females of all time alongside Zoey Valentine (The Awakened) and Angelica Cross (Paranormal Detectives Series).  Then there's Ezra, who I'm going to let you fall in love with for yourself.  However, on a side note, why does every Ezra I come across in books have to be such a fine specimen?  (I'm talking about you Ezra from First & Then.)  Cue the drooling:



If you're looking for a dystopian trilogy with traditional elements that spins them into something entertaining and refreshing, I'd highly recommend Ultraxenopia.  It's jam-packed with great characters, excellent world building, and a dash of powers!



Release Day Blitz: Omega by Karina Espinosa



Title: Omega
Author: Karina Espinosa
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Cover Designer: Laura Hildago
Publisher: Black Quill Publishing
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR


Blurb: 
Bodies drained of blood are scattered around New York City. With a serial killer on the loose, Mackenzie Grey is obsessed with solving the murders. She dives into her work at the Supernatural Investigative Unit to forget about the events that dismantled her Pack a year ago. When the killer makes Kenz the target, she falls down the rabbit hole and discovers she has a lot more to do with these murders than she realized.
As her past creeps up behind her, she must swallow her pride and seek aid from old and new friends.
In the epic finale of the Mackenzie Grey: Origins series, she will finally become the wolf she is destined to be…




Karina Espinosa is the Urban Fantasy author of the Sins of the Fallen series and the Mackenzie Grey novels. Infatuated with travel, pop culture, and the need to write everything down, she spends much of her days in front of a computer working on her next book, shopping online, and listening to music. With nomadic tendencies, she is currently resting her head in South Florida until the itch to move strikes again. You can usually catch her on Facebook, Instagram and live-tweeting during episodes of Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, and Orphan Black. Follow her on social media!




Author Links:
Buy Links: